Homeless

Mist obscures the light and it would seem like deep darkness if I didn’t know better. Beyond those clouds is the evidence I’ve already known. Night after night I stand outside and stare, I let my eyes adjust as the sky seems like it will overflow with stars as I’m able to allow in more and more of their light. Why do we chase the stars? What is it that makes us obsess over them? Can we find a way to attribute some of that same wonder to our current residence, are we no less in space? Are we a wonder to anyone? If there is someone out there who sees our blinking with any of the same type of wonder that we have when we look at the night sky… We are so drawn away from here. Like it is our nature to abandon ourselves.

Planet of the Homeless

~ by thefrozennorth on December 10, 2006.

Leave a comment